Showing posts with label G-Dragon. Show all posts
Showing posts with label G-Dragon. Show all posts

Sunday, April 28, 2013

A Touch of K-Pop: April '13

Sunday morning, and what am I thinking about? K-Pop of course! Here's another monthly edition of me ranting about whatever's on my mind. Read or skip at your own leisure. I won't mind. I'm a fangirl. To each her own. ;) 

All my biases at a glance... *heavy sigh*
What's up this month?
April brought some great joy to my life. Also some sad twinges of pain. Take the day Zico (and non-Block B friends) dropped a new cover and accompanying MV for “Feel So Young”: I swooned, I fangirled, I looooved, I danced, then I cried… for about 20 minutes. Then I did this on repeat for the next 5 hours. Because however exciting it is to see Zico doing awesome and new for a change, the fate of the rest of the group still hangs in the air. 

Seriously! When will there be [good] news about Block B! Stalking their twitter accounts on a daily basis to see if I can be the first to hear something has been mentally draining. Also, I run into lovely bits of information that I really could’ve done without. For example: Jaehyo went hiking one day, and his butt got firmer the next day. True story. He tweeted it. Now you all know. Thank your good friend Rosie for informing you of such. 

What else is up this month, or – more importantly – what else in the Kpop universe has been on my mind this month? Stick around for fandom updates (Angels, Melodies, Crowns – I’m coming!), some crazy ass stuff involving pink elephants and urinals (seriously, GD…), bias updates and changes(!!) and more. 



Thursday, March 21, 2013

A Touch of K-Pop: March '13

It's the middle of week, nobody's home but me and my cat - I had planned to watch upwards of 7 drama episodes this day from 4 different shows I'm currently watching. What do I do instead? Get ridiculously side-tracked by K-Pop. As usual. 

Welcome to my new feature, where once a month I discuss my current thoughts on K-Pop: what's new, what's old, whatever thoughts that suddenly run through my head! Basically, an excuse to dish, fangirl, wail or bemoan, and link all kinds of brightly colored MVs. Bear with me for a bit. 



What's New:
Infinite's comeback with MV "Man in Love" and by the way, all I noticed was the CAT!  I like Infinite, I really do - but once I got over "Paradise" and "Be Mine" (dance practice versions), every other song of theirs takes months for me to warm up to. I suspect this new one will be no different. 

Man, I'm in love... with this kitty! Also, Hoya. But I think that has a lot to do with his role in Answer Me, 1997 (and being an awesome dancer) more than anything else. 


Read more for praises of EYK, itunes gift cards, Zico's eyelashes, G-Dragon's red lips, and - yes, I'm going to say it: Teen Top. Also, what on earth has P.O. been doing lately??


Monday, December 17, 2012

A Very Biased Report

G-Dragon of BIGBANG and Zico of Block B

Having a “bias” is a very new concept for me.  When I first started watching K-Dramas and listening to K-Pop, and I came across the term used in reference to individual people, it almost seemed like the word was used incorrectly.  To me, having a bias was more a state of mind, and almost always comes with a negative connotation as in ‘I am biased… against something.’ For the record I still find it hard to start a sentence off with ‘My bias is…’ in reference to my favorite male and female actors and idols. 

Now I’m more amused than anything about how often I use the phrase, and its particular meaning. It’s just one more sign that I’m helplessly immersed in the lingo of modern fangirldom- a fact that has become an endless sort of amusement and irony to me. Take a look at my two precious K-Pop biases above, and realize that even my noona status can’t diminish how much I admire and respect (and completely adore to bits!) two absolute strangers from across the world.

Sometimes, having a bias is a scary thing – as is coming to terms with it. As such, I have put together a list of definitions from as many sources as applicable.  So what is being biased? What is a bias? And what does it mean to be biased, have a bias, or live professing such biases. Read more for this and many more questions (and probably fewer answers). 


Friday, November 30, 2012

[K-Pop Issues] Just Part of This System

"Kpop Music Industry: Building the Love, One Fandom at a Time"





I’ve been musing about my K-Pop addiction for some time now.  If you had asked me a year ago, when I was fresh into discovering K-Dramas, if I’d ever listen to some Asian boy band in skinny jeans or cotton candy hair, I probably would have slapped you, scoffed, and assured the questioner with sure-fire determination: Please, I’m an adult. I even missed the boy band craze in the 90s, though I was right in the middle of that whole generation.  I like to think I had more sense in my younger days. That is, until I finally admitted to myself, and to my family, what had obviously become true, and that cotton candy hair is actually quite sexy…   So why was I taken in?  When and how did I become just another dot in the K-Pop fandom? 
 

It’s nothing new to refer to the K-Pop industry as hardcore manufacturers, popping out singers and dancers regardless of talent.  One pictures the giant machine that is the Company, swallowing children whole and popping the lucky survivors out… Voila! Yet one more idol group loosed upon the world.  If you’re an international K-Pop fan too, it can be especially hard to defend this system which is more often than not based on fact.  It’s a defense I’m also tired of making, even if I bring it upon myself to explain to mostly uninterested parties.  There’s only so many times I can say, “Yes… well this group does sound an awful lot like that group… but you see, here’s the exception to that rule…and that’s why I like Group B more than I like Group G!” Because the truth is, sometimes I even like Group S, who look and sound a lot like Group G…


There’s a nasty theory, which on my darkest days, even I consider a pretty good possibility: Commercialization and the state of falling prey to commercialization.  I can’t tell you how many times I have read articles about K-Pop groups hounding on the success or non-success of a particularly stylization of genre, concept, trend, or marketing strategy.  Discussing this year’s crop of rookie groups (generally acknowledged to be too many to count) seems to be the favorite pastime of many K-Pop analysts, professional or hobby. 

‘Will these boys be able to distinguish themselves with their radical new concept?  Will these darlings manage to create a foothold within their target age group?  Will their management company be able to market them better, put them on enough stages, variety programs, allow their personalities to stand out, make them shine?  Will the viewers buy it, and become lifelong fans?

I hate the idea of buying into something that’s been tailor-made to suit my tastes.  I think most of us do on some level.  Advertising companies, commercials – they come with a nasty mechanical and impersonal label, the middle-men between corporate profits, and our poor little pocket books.  The entertainment industry masks itself better than most, and yet it’s the same.  Our favorite K-Pop groups? Their companies make a lot of money because of fans who show up to concerts, and buy their products.  Am I any different?  Take a look at this picture, and I’ll confess: I swooned almost as much at the box label as I did for the products inside.


It’s true. I bought into this system.  Idle Revelry’s dire prophecy happened just as they knew it would.  Part of this irks me to no end, but mainly I don’t care.  I could stand and defend myself, but sometimes we have to admit that marketing works.  Whenever I see a Whataburger commercial on the TV, guess what? I want Whataburger.  Chances are within the week, I’ll still be craving a Whataburger and go out and buy it.   I’m weak and human, and usually hungry...

As far as K-Pop, I have to be impressed some days with its marketing as a whole.  Korea is phenomenal at propagating its culture through K-Pop and K-Dramas alike, that infamous Soft Power that makes people half a globe away interested in the workings of a comparatively tiny little nation sandwiched in between Japan and China.  I know the relative histories of those countries, but does their culture affect me on a daily basis?  No, and that is their loss.  Fundamentally, I may dislike the self-imposed connotation that I’m just a part of this system.  On the other hand, if Korea wants to continue making and training pretty boys for me to ogle at and sing along with to ridiculous songs, as long as I’m mostly happy, I say bring it on.    

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Sharing the Love


 
There are times in your life when you just can’t express the happiness you feel, the contentment of life overall.  Days you thought would never exist, moments you never even dreamed of.  Today I was part of something special – While sitting in my kitchen, pondering the boring layout of electronics, kitchen devices and Tupperware for our upcoming Thanksgiving cooking space, from down the hall stalks my brother-in-law (only recently a holiday guest) with his iPhone singing softly to himself:  “Hellooo…. Hellooo…. Yes, sir, I’m one of a kind… *mumble*…. Hello, hello….” 

*Rosie dies a supremely happy person*


Rewind a few hours.  Really this is all because my husband’s plan to garner sympathy from his brother backfired almost completely.  We are a strange family.  For one thing, I spend almost every hour of free time in front of a computer watching Korean or Japanese dramas, and when I’m not sitting here at my desk being ‘productive’ (aka writing about these things) I’m listening to Kpop on my iPod, iPad or Pandora radio station.  I also have this crazy urge to share my love with any and every poor soul that crosses the threshold of my home.  Even if I know they will probably hate it.  Why hide who I am? I like watching and listening to Korean people to the exclusion of almost every other form of entertainment.  My long-suffering husband has been making painstaking efforts to meet me halfway.  We now share a common fascination with everything Block B.  I still love BIGBANG.  He listens to Girls Generation…  
"Here, listen to this. It's awesome, I promise!"
But when his brother showed up, I think he genuinely hoped to find someone else to laugh with him over G-Dragon’s crazy music videos, and to ultimately sympathize with an illness called “My wife is in love with a Korean rapper.”  Symptoms include eye-rolling, heavy sighs, and a hesitant aptitude for picking out Engrish-sounding words amidst a sea of Korean lyrics. 


It occurs to me that I’m actually a very lucky person.  My sister is just as K-Pop obsessed.  Both she and my husband watch K-Dramas.  My brother-in-law finished watching City Hunter all by himself, and last time my mother visited she requested a second mixed CD featuring her favorite BIGBANG songs.  Last night, we all started watching IRIS.  It’s absolutely killing me that I’m the only one with enough time on my hands to marathon the drama. Having to wait around everyone else’s schedules just to watch one more episode is agonizing!  (It’s even worse than waiting for subs, because they’re already there! You just need to sit down so I can hit PLAY!”)
Now if only for Christmas I could appease all of my friends with a mixed CD, I’d be one happy person.  How about a coupon for 5-10 hours of my time to sit down and watch some fabulous drama?  (Really, doesn’t that sound like a great present?)
"Seriously, if you don't watch this drama with me,
prepare to be mauled by my bear-ears beanie!"


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Noraebang - Karaoke Korean Style

I'd sing if, well... he was singing too.
I admit it. I've never done karaoke. Years of peer pressure, and I've never even once allowed myself to be dragged within 100 feet of a karaoke machine, public or private.  Just the thought of one of these devil machines has haunted my childhood for years.  It's not that I'm a bad singer, I just hate the spotlight.  Singing in front of people, be they friends or strangers, sends a paralyzing touch to my legs, and a curious rattling to my bones.  I prefer my car, or the shower, or my home when absolutely nobody is around.  And I mean absolutely nobody... I even check my windows to make sure my neighbors are safely inside their own homes, and not drinking beer on the porch, primed to start laughing at my pathetic attempt of a high note, or even worse...a feeble resemblance to something that at one point might have been swag.
 
But some days, I really wish I could just visit a noraebang 노래방, pop in some money and rap my heart away in a foreign language.  Let's just hope that there are no actual Koreans around, because that would be plain embarrassing.  Also in this alternate reality world, I would be able to read Hangul at a much faster pace.  Right now, the best I might be able to do is a slow ballad with repeating lyrics.  Scratch that.  I'm going to make this happen in the real world someday.  But I think I'll to have to approach it like a mid-term test, and study study study. Here's my cheat sheet:


G-Dragon, A Boy 소년이여 
Random thought: Why does his hair still look better than mine after I wake up?

Chorus (Actual text)

Remember back in that day  빛나던 꿈을
난 절대 잊지 못해 그 때 그 꿈을
Don’t forget back in that day 소년이여
네 멋진 목소리로 세상에 소리쳐 shine a light

Chorus (Romanized)

Remember back in that day Bitnadeun ggoomeul
nan juldae itji mothae geuddae geu ggomeul
Don't forget back in that day sonyeoneeyeo
Ni mutjin moksoriro saesangeh sorichu shine a light

Chorus (Rosie's phonetical version)
Remember back in that day peenado WOO WOO
nanja-day itchy moo-tay koo-day guu woo woo
Don't forget back in the day sohyahneee YUH
akjaoiewyvlkajpeorjkviedafapsdewur  SHINE A LIGHT!!~!!
  
Yeah, ok so that song never sounds as good as I want it sound, but it's the thought that counts right? I'll have to practice some more before I visit a real noraebang... In the meantime, how about I leave you with some of my favorite Kdrama noraebang scenes.